Congress President Election: Digvijay Singh withdraws, Mallikarjun Kharge to contest poll

Congress President Election,

Congress President Election: Digvijay Singh withdraws, Mallikarjun Kharge to contest poll

NEW DELHI: The suspense continues regarding the faces in the Congress Presidential election.


Meanwhile, Digvijaya Singh has said that he will not contest polls. He said, "He will become the proponent of Mallikarjun Kharge. I have worked for the Congress all my life and will continue to do so. I can't even think of contesting against Kharge.

Senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge will contest party president election, Rajya Sabha MP Pramod Tieari said on Friday.

Before this statement, Digvijay Singh on Friday addressed his associates Mallikarjun Kharge and K. Met C. Venugopal. At the same time, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, who has refused to contest for the post of president, has also reached to meet Kharge.

According to the report so far, it is believed that Kharge may face Shashi Tharoor in the election of Congress President.

Amidst Digvijay Singh's statement, former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister and senior Congress leader Kamal Nath said that he (Digvijay Singh) had called in the morning and told that he would not fill the form. After Kharge's name came up, he has lagged behind.

Just before this, Congress's Central Election Authority chief Madhusudan Mistry has said that Digvijay Singh and Shashi Tharoor will file nominations. He said that perhaps Mallikarjun Kharge will also nominate. Amidst the discussion on these names, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot had said after meeting Sonia Gandhi that he would not contest the elections.


The process of filing nominations for the election of the Congress President began on September 24 and Friday (September 30) is the last day. The last date for withdrawal of nomination papers is October 8. In case of more than one candidate, polling will be held on October 17 and results will be declared on October 19.

Sep 29 2022 11:49PM
Congress President Election,